Global Winners of Joe Biden DEs of the Year Awards Are Named

LONDON–The winners of the Joe Biden Awards for Development Educator of the Year from around the world were presented during a ceremony here.

Presented by the International Credit Union Leadership Development & Education Foundation, the 8thannual “Oscars” were presented at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester hotel, with Manchester’s Mayor, Andy Burnham, on hand for the event.  

“Credit unions transform people’s lives because they help them manage their finances in a way that means they don’t have to resort to loan sharks and payday lenders,” said Burnham. “I’m proud to say that Greater Manchester Combined Authority will be working with the Consortium of Credit Unions and other partners across Greater Manchester over the coming months. I welcome their co-operative way of working and would like to congratulate the Greater Manchester Consortium on both co-hosting this Awards dinner and being nominated for such a prestigious award.”  

Screen Shot 2018-12-07 at 1.07.51 PM

Also present was Jeff Seneviratne, vice chair of “Credit Unions for Greater Manchester,” a consortium of eight credit unions serving Manchester and its surrounding areas.’s Cooperator in Chief, Frank J. Diekmann, was among the judges for the awards.

Awards Dinner Held

The Awards Dinner celebrates those who have successfully participated in the Filene and Biden Awards program by showcasing and applauding their efforts and achievements and gives a superb opportunity for those involved in the co-operative credit union movement to meet others from the U.K. and other parts of the world engaged in co-operative activity.

“Credit Unions for Greater Manchester” won the Award “Pursuing International Co-Operative Alliance Principle 6 - Co-Operation Amongst Co-Operatives” in recognition of the way the eight credit unions in the area had come together to better serve their communities and bring the unique credit union difference to everyone within the Greater Manchester Combined Authority.

Among the other Joe Biden Awards for Development Educator of the Year 2018:

  • Asia: Marilou “Malou” Guanzon-Apaisok, Executive Training Director of "The Storytelling Power of Co-Operatives,” Cebu City, Philippines
  • Africa: Peter Owira, manager, Sacco Supervision, Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Europe: Malcolm Ngouala, Hoot Credit Union, Bolton, U.K.
  • United States: Shelli McCoy, VP-operations, Tarrant County's Credit Union, Fort Worth, Texas
  • United States, runner up: Terry Laudick, president/CEO, Nusenda Credit Union, Albuquerque, N.M.

Among the other winners:

Edward Filene Credit Union Awards for Performance Excellence for Great Britain and Ireland: Community First Credit Union, Mexborough

Edward Filene Award for Social Entrepreneurship, which was awardedto the credit union/individuals achieving the highest aggregate score across all categories: 

* Gary Simpson, Credit Union Executive of the Year (joint winner)

* Pat Marriott, Single Benefactor to a Credit Union (joint winner)

* Zoe Monkman, Customer Services Officer of the Year

* Beth Moss, Young Credit Union Leader

* Isobell Hollings, Young Credit Union Leader

Raiffeisen Hall of Fame: Dragonsavers Credit Union, Treorchy, Wales, Cardiff & Vale Credit Union, Cardiff, Wales, and Jubilee Tower Credit Union, Darwen, U.K.

Special Award for Excellence in Film Production” Unify Credit Union, Wigan, U.K.

Single Benefactor to a Credit Union: Martin Busch, Liburn Credit Union, Ltd., Antrim, Northern Ireland.

Section: Standard
Word Count: 675
Copyright Holder:
Copyright Year: 2019
Is Based On: