World Council Announces Board Changes

PARADISE ISLAND, Bahamas–—The World Council of Credit Unions has named two new board members. The changes were announced during WOCCU’s World CU Conference here.

The Board appointed Allison Chaytor-Loveys of the Canadian Credit Union Association and Charles Murphy of the Irish League of Credit Unions as new directors. Chaytor-Loveys takes the seat formerly held by Kevin Sitka and will serve a two-year term, while Murphy will finish out the final year of Brian McCrory's term.

Screen Shot 2019-08-01 at 5.21.49 PM

Chaytor-Loveys is also a CCUA Board Director and serves as CEO of Newfoundland and Labrador Credit Union (NLCU). During her 15-year tenure as CEO of NCLU, the organization has won provincial, regional and national awards for creating a model work environment, providing exceptional member service, producing innovative marketing campaigns and making important contributions to communities, World Council reported.

Murphy is in his seventh year on the Irish League of Credit Unions’ Board of Directors—serving as President from April 2017-19. He also serves as a board director for Slane Credit Union and ECCU Assurance DAC—the ILCU’s own life assurance company.

In addition, board members Carla Cicero (CUNA) and Diana Dykstra (CUNA) were reappointed for two-year terms, while Jaime Chavez (FECOLFIN-Colombia), Younsik Kim (NACUFOK-Korea) and Rafal Matusiak (NACSCU-Poland) were all reelected to two-year terms on the 14-member body.

Need to ‘Step Out’

"Being a director for the World Council of Credit Unions requires that one step out. It requires commitment to step out from one's framework, from one's comfort zone and to providing service to our global credit union system," said World Council President and CEO Brian Branch.

The World Council Board’s committee officers for 2019-20 are:

  • Steve Stapp, Chair/Human Resources Committee Chair/Executive Committee Chair – USA
  • Rafal Matusiak, Vice Chair/Secretary – Poland
  • Diana Dykstra, Treasurer/Chair of Audit & Risk Management Committee – USA
  • Martha Durdin, Chair of Governance & Elections Committee - Canada
Section: Standard
Word Count: 446
Copyright Holder:
Copyright Year: 2019
Is Based On: