RTN FCU Names Scholarship Winners

WALTHAM, Mass.–RTN Federal Credit Union has announced the 2019 recipients of its James A. Burley, Jr. Scholarship Awards. The scholarship awards totaling $10,000 are presented annually to three students who are RTN members or dependents of members, and are enrolled in an undergraduate or post high school technical college.

Screen Shot 2019-08-15 at 4.54.39 PM

Camilla Ora of Dorchester received the top award of $5,000. She will be attending California Institute of Technology this fall. Molly Karas of Kingston, NH earned $3,000 as the second-place award recipient. She will be attending Salem State University. Elizabeth Jones of Ayer took home a third-place award of $2,000 and she will be attending Suffolk University.

The annual award is named in honor of RTN’s late Chairman and Director, James A. Burley, Jr., who served the Credit Union for more than 30 years. Scholarship recipients are selected based on their written responses to a thematic-based essay. This year’s topic was “What have you done to make your school or your community a better place?”

“The Burley Scholarship reflects our investment in the next generation of Credit Union members,” said Richard Wright, RTN Treasurer and CEO. “RTN is proud to play a role in helping to make the goal of higher education more financially accessible for our member families.”

Section: Standard
Word Count: 311
Copyright Holder: CUToday.info
Copyright Year: 2019
Is Based On:
URL: https://www.cutoday.info/THE-neighborhood/RTN-FCU-Names-Scholarship-Winners